In terms of paragraph 3.59 of the Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, Famous Brands is delighted to advise shareholders that Ms Fagmeedah Petersen-Cook has been appointed as an independent non-executive director to the board of directors of Famous Brands (“the Board”), and member of the Audit and Risk, Investment and Remuneration Committees. This appointment will be effective from 1 June 2021.

Fagmeedah, who holds a Bachelor of Business Science (Actuarial Science) from the University of Cape Town and a Postgraduate Diploma in Management Practice from the University of Cape Town Graduate School of Business, currently serves as a non-executive director for a range of diverse companies where she applies her strategic thinking and well-developed understanding of risk. She is a CD(SA) charter holder and an experienced investment professional and has held C-suite roles in the public and private sector. Fagmeedah’s professional career as an actuary spans twenty-four years.

The Board welcomes Fagmeedah and looks forward to her contribution.


As previously announced on 4 March 2021, Ms Emma Mashilwane intends to step down at the upcoming Annual General Meeting of Famous Brands expected to take place on 23 July 2021.

She will further step down as a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.

Accordingly, with effect from 23 July 2021, following the Annual General Meeting of the Company:

  • Mr Chris Boulle will succeed Ms Emma Mashilwane as Chair of the Remuneration Committee,
  • Ms Fagmeedah Petersen-Cook will succeed Mr Chris Boulle as Chair of the Investment Committee, and
  • Mr John Halamandres will step down as full-time member of the Investment Committee but will remain an invitee.

27 May 2021

The Standard Bank of South Africa Limited